Pioneer History of Meigs County e-bokEngelsk, 2013


Meigs County, Ohio was created in 1819 and named for Return Jonathan Meigs Jr. one of the early pioneers who surveyed and settled the Northwest Territory. He later became the 4th Governor of the State of Ohio. Before Meigs County was formed, the southern half was part of Gallia County and the northern half was part of Washington County, then Athens County. Not long after the founding of Marietta in 1787 pioneers began settling in what is now Meigs County, Ohio. In 1876, Stillman C. Larkin and others formed the Meigs County Pioneer Society to collect and preserve the history of the early settlers of Meigs County and such other matters of interest as may be declared by the Society to be worthy of recognition and preservation. This book, originally published in 1908, is a result of their efforts and gives us a wonderful look into the past. In this work you will find biographies, names and some very fascinating stories of these early settlers and their descendents.